Reiko's Ramblings and Writings

What I'm reading and writing about lately.

IFComp 2015 Review: TOMBs of Reschette

Posted by Reiko on November 17, 2015

This is a review of a game from the 2015 Interactive Fiction Competition. Scoring criteria can be found here.

TOMBs of Reschette
Author: Richard Goodness
Format: Web – Twine

This has to be one of those games that was made as a deliberate old-school homage. If you’re familiar with dungeon RPG tropes, this is a pretty easy game, although it seems rather pointless. As in, it’s possible to kill the “final boss” monster right from the beginning, but there are also side areas to explore, including an endless series of monsters that give experience and loot. The actual fighting is trivial, as there are no hit points or levels. There’s also nothing to do with that experience and loot aside from giving a few particular items to the cook to increase stats that also do nothing. I found the library last, which basically only confirmed that I’d been using the right strategies on the various creatures.

I’m sure I missed a few things, as there’s a locked door I never found a key for, and a mirror I never used. There are several endings, none of which seemed particularly happy even after I defeated the boss monster, so I’m not sure if there’s actually an ideal winning ending or not. No ending gave me full points, although each ending gave me a different number of maximum points, so I’m assuming the points are more or less just a joke anyway.

This was clearly made in Twine and used Twine’s text capabilities to good effect in several places, including one sequence of half-mad spirit-thoughts that sometimes went by almost faster than I could read (and I can read very quickly). One quirk was that the display momentarily showed the default Twine formatting when loading the letter and the book, the formatting of which looked very sharp in contrast with the large classic fixed-space font of the main game.

Time: 25 min
Scoring: base 7, +1 for old-school dungeon setting, -1 for trivial battles and pointless loot
Score: 7

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
